Home | Sitemap | Contact | Staff Portal | Web Site Accessibility
Click on the below Links
for needed Forms
Gillespie County Justice of the Peace Precinct 1 Map
(effective January 1, 2019)
(Used in Small Claim, Eviction, Debt Claim, and Repair and Remedy Cases)
Petition for Eviction Form
(Used in Civil - Eviction Cases)
Affidavit of Military Status Form
Instruction Sheet for Filing an Eviction
(Used in Small Claim Cases)
Plea Reply Form
(Used in Responding to Traffic Ticket Cases)
Alternatives to Payment of Fines and Costs
* 125 West Main St. - Lower Level Office *
* Fredericksburg, TX 78624 *
* Phone 830-307-3737 Ext. 1 * * Fax 830-990-1115 *
Office Hours of Operation: Monday-Friday; 8:00 am - 4:00 pm
Customers can call or email the Court during regular business hours
(Monday – Friday; 8:00 AM – 4:00 PM) with questions or concerns regarding their case.
JP Pct One phone number: 830-307-3737, press #1
JP Pct One email: firstname.lastname@example.org
Payments by money order or cashier’s check can be placed in our Drop Box located on the back side of our building at 125 W Main Street, Fredericksburg Texas.
Payments by credit or debit card can be made online or by phone following the instructions below:
Online payments go to: gillespiecounty.org
Justice of Peace
Justice of Peace Precinct 1– Judge J.D. Hickman
Proceed with your payment amount and credit card information.
Use your Texas Driver’s License number for Citation Number (in the event you do not have a Texas Driver’s License, please call the Court during normal business hours for information)
Telephone payments please call: 1-800-487-4567
Choose your preferred language
Press #4 to speak to a customer service representative
Give the representative the Jurisdiction Code of 6593
(this code is ONLY for JP 1 cases)
Tell them the amount you are paying
Give your Texas Driver’s License number for Citation Number (in the event you do not have Texas Driver’s License call the Court for information).
Precinct 1 Justice of the Peace
The office of the Justice of the Peace Precinct One was created by the Constitution. The Justice presides over Criminal Class C Misdemeanors. Class C Misdemeanors include, but are not limited to offenses found in the Traffic Code, Penal Code, Health and Safety Code, Education Code, Parks and Wildlife Code, and the Alcohol & Beverage Code. Civil Justice Court with a jurisdictional limit of $10,000 and a Small Claims Court with a jurisdictional limit of $10,000. In addition the Justice presides over numerous administrative actions, such as appeals on the driver license suspensions, magistration, and search warrants.
Filing a Small Claim Case
(click above for "Information" pdf...)
A small claims case is a lawsuit brought for the recovery of monetary damages, civil penalties, personal property, or other relief allowed by law. The actual amount in controversy (not the amount sued for) cannot exceed $10,000.00, excluding statutory interest and court costs but including attorney fees, if any.
THESE INSTRUCTIONS ARE A BROAD INTERPRETATION OF THE LAWS THAT APPLY TO THE COURT. ANY LEGAL QUESTIONS OR LEGAL INTERPRETATION SHOULD BE BASED UPON YOUR OWN RESEARCH OF THE MATTER, OR THE ADVICE OF YOUR ATTORNEY. SMALL CLAIMS ARE GOVERNED BY RULES 500-507 of PART V of the TEXAS RULES OF CIVIL PROCEDURE.
General Rule: Generally, a defendant in a small claims case or a debt claim case is entitled to be sued in one of the following venues:
WHO YOU MAY SUE:
The responsibility for filling out your Original Petition and Civil Case Information Sheet rests with you. For help with precinct information, please contact the Gillespie County Tax Assessor Collector, 830-997-6519, or visit our website at www.gillespiecounty.org and choose Precinct Maps then select Gillespie County JP Precinct Map, or see the precinct map in the Gillespie County Annex 1 Building. The filing fee is $51.00 and the service fee for certified mail is $12.35, for constable service, $75.00. A litigant is entitled to alternative methods of satisfying the court cost, subject to acceptance by the Court. If the defendant resides outside of Gillespie County, contact the Court for service fees of other counties.
After the trial, either party may appeal the judgment by filing a Notice of Appeal with the Court, Appeal Surety Bond and a $10 transcript fee, within (21) twenty-one days from the date of judgment. If the appeal is filed by the Plaintiff, the appeal bond amount shall be $500.00. If the appeal is filed by the Defendant, the appeal bond amount shall be two (2) times the judgment amount. Filing fees are required to the County Court.
AFTER THE JUDGMENT:
Should you receive a judgment, this Court does not collect the judgment for you, nor can we force the defendant to pay the judgment. If you receive a judgment against the defendant, this Court can issue various instruments to assist you in collecting the judgment.
* * Need help with * *
a legal problem?
SB 1911 – Legal Self Help Bill
Click the link above to make an online payment or to Make a payment by phone: call 1-800-487-4567 Monday - Friday, 7:00am - 7:00pm CT
Filing an Eviction
Copyright © 2016 - Gillespie County Texas
powered by ezTaskTitanium TM